Areas of learning

Supporting practitioners knowledge of educational programmes within the EYFS

The changes to the educational programmes within the revised ‘Statutory Framework for the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS)’ 2021 provide a great opportunity to focus on the content of each area of learning and how your ‘curriculum’ enables children to access opportunities that cover the breadth and depth of material expected.

These bite-sized explorations of the seven areas of learning offer reflective provocations for curriculum leaders and practitioners to use to deepen their understanding and enhance their provision. 

Prime areas

Personal, social and emotional development

Communication and language

Physical development

Specific areas



Understanding the World

Expressive arts and design